Personal Wiki / Knowledge base?

Hello!
I’m trying to create a personal wiki for my work. I’m a teacher and my problem is that there are important procedures, rules and laws which I need to know once or twice a year. Like the correct way to add a student to the school system, to apply certain stuff to the data base, how to correctly do standardized tests and so on…

Usually I open my mail app and use search to find the right mail that tells me all I need to know. But it gets more and more complicated and so I thought about creating my own wiki to add stuff over time and to look up the stuff when I need it.

I also would love to share it with colleagues. So this feature would be nice to have. But it shouldn’t be some webpage because of data security and stuff.

Can anyone recommend software for this special use case?

Hooo boy did you come to the right place! Do a quick search for Craft, Notion, Obsidian, or DEVONthink. One of those would probably fit the bill. If you want an open source solution you could give Tiddlywiki a shot, depends on how technical you want to get.

Back in the day I would have pointed you at Circus Ponies Notebook or VoodooPad, but those are gone, or as good as gone. If you want to get really nerdy you could take a look at Emacs org-mode or Vim’s vimwiki plugin. Lots of options! What kind of app are you looking for?

1 Like

You could do this with Notion. Then again, the need to share with colleagues adds a degree of complication— you’d need to play to the lowest common level of willingness to engage with tech. Having tried to use Notion with people who aren’t particularly excited about taking on platforms they’re not familiar with, it’s never quite as easy as sending them a link to a Notion page…

So maybe Craft.do instead?

Edit: @ibuys beat me to it. Plenty of good suggestions there.

2 Likes