Pixelmator/Pixelmator Pro/Affinity Photo

I am trying to decide on one standard photo editing program for both Mac OS and iOS. I need it mainly to fix up photos taken with a Canon g9X and my iPhone. I have narrowed it down to the Pixelmator or Affinity family of apps. Opinions?

I’m a Pixelmator Pro switcher from Photoshop and it’s just as powerful, easier IMHO, and faster to edit photos in.

I use Pixelmator on iPhone and plan on using Pixelmator Pro when it’s released on iPad.

1 Like

I’d suggest reconsidering that because there’s no reason to use one standard app. I periodically use several iOS apps alone - including Darkroom, SKRWT, Camera+ and VOUN - for their different (often specialized) editing/sharing abilities (some quick and dirty, some not). Only two of the iOS apps I use, Photoshop/Lightroom and Pixelmator Pro, have macOS analogues. And I similarly use multiple Mac apps as well.

I’d never let myself be restricted to Pixelmator for photo adjustments. It doesn’t do photo adjustments, perspective editing, b&w options or image framing as well as the iOS apps I mentioned above. (And those aren’t the only apps I’ll use.) Likewise, on the Mac I’ll use the stock Photos app with a number of image editor extensions - and even apps that aren’t plug-ins via Alex Kent’s excellent free Open In extension - for editing my iPhone pics, and I’ll use Lightroom/Photoshop for managing and editing my DSLR photos.

What workflow do you recommend when using the Mac OS Photos app with extensions?

I’ve used Luminar, Affinity and Pixelmator.

I’m never quite sure whether to use the extension because the edits are then baked into the image. Correct? Once you go back to Photos.app you can’t undo or adjust the edits you make in third party extension.

I’ve wondered if the best workflow is to Edit In the third party app rather than use the extension. Then, save a copy of the image in Photos.app.

Any advice on best practices?

Thanks much.