Poll: Where do you think Apple is with respect to the security aspects of macOS?

On another thread, the subject of the security of macOS and Safari versus other platforms arose. Since there are choices for browsers, I have chosen not to consider them for this poll. Please indicate where you believe Apple is with respect to the security of macOS compared to other platforms (Linux, Windows, etc). I think it would be fair to compare macOS to iOS/iPadOS as well. Relevant comments are, of course, welcome.

• macOS is way ahead of other platforms
  • macOS is ahead of other platforms
  • macOS is about even with other platforms
  • macOS is behind other platforms
  • macOS is way behind other platforms

0 voters

1 Like

I think macOS is ahead of other desktop platforms, especially with the introduction of Catalina (as painful as that has been). Although I am a developer, I donā€™t participate in beta testing, so I was really surprised when Catalina introduced the read-only OS filesystem. Another ambituous security feature is the Notarization process. I think it remains to be seen how that works out.

2 Likes

Sorry to ask, but WRT stands for?

WRT = ā€œwith respect toā€

20 character are the minimum length of a post, in case you donā€™t know

I think Windows and macOS have acceptable and overall equivalent security, and both can be battened down with supplementary free and commercial utilities. Miocrosoft Defender has turned into a powerfully capable product.

I know a few CISOs and security consultants and they work on Macs, Windows, and Linux machines. The more paranoid one I know, a ā€˜red teamā€™ hacker, uses a hardened version of Linux running apps in a virtual machine, plus uses a YubiKey whenever possibleā€¦ but then heā€™s potentially a target of state-based hackers.