Recording guitar on a MacBook Pro

I have a 14" MBP 10-core CPU; 16-core GPU; 16 GB/1 TB SSD. I have a Universal Audio Volt 276 audio interface. I am not a musician but I’ve been playing guitar for 50+ years. Over those years I have mastered every bad habit there is. Now, I want to approach it seriously. I sold 2 guitars at Carter Vintage Guitars though consignment (great experience) and bought a new Martin acoustic with a pickup and a PRS electric. I assure you that my old guitars were not what was limiting my abilities. I just thought getting new guitars would give me an impetus to learn. I also just started Paul Davids’ Learn, Practice, Play beginner guitar course. (Don’t laugh) I think that actually learning some new techniques, tabs, scales, and some theory will be good for my brain.

My questions:

Ableton Live Lite software came with the Volt. I would like to use an Apple product, either Garageband or Logic Pro (unless someone has a better alternative). Should I start with GarageBand then switch to Logic if I hit a brick wall or just start with Logic? Do I have enough computer power to run Logic? The guitar course comes with some backing tracks. I was thinking of recording myself along with these tracks. My goal is to eventually record one song (original or a cover) that I wouldn’t be totally embarrassed by.

Can I use Apple AirPods Max headphones or do I need wired head phones?

Do I need a set of studio monitors?

I appreciate any help with this.

2 Likes
  • First of all, you’re a musician.
  • Second, love Paul David.
    - I won’t laugh because the best trumpet player I ever studied under continued to take lessons.
  • Ableton is cool, but I would start right off with logic personally. GarageBand will be sufficient though. Logic will give you a bit more control for EQs and other effects, but maybe I’m too familiar in my workflow, so I guess start with GarageBand lol, it’ll work.