RIP: Panic's Code Editor (aka Coda) for iOS

Like Unison for Mac, Transmit and Status Board for iOS, Coda aka Code Editor for iOS has been killed. I can understand this one more than Transmit tho. Apple’s creepy control prevented them from selling enough to be financially sound.

The biggest technical hurdle is the inability to run external processes on iOS and iPadOS.
Apps on iOS and iPadOS must use Apple’s Javascript interpreter, JavaScriptCore.

Everytime Panic kills a product, I look at that little hand held game they built (Playdate) and scream “This is your fault!”…

1 Like

It’s a sad news, really. Web Developers nowadays have to deal with lots of framework to deliver ‘industry standard’ product. As a web developer, I feel the limited option of text editors that allow productive workflow and fast code delivery.

Coda/Code Editor was my go-to-app for fixing bugs on the go on my websites. They did an awesome job even on an iPhone, if you just needed to change something small in your code.

I do not know of any other app that accomplished that so well.

I may sound a bit frustrated, but there were so many developers that did cope with iOS’ limitations during all those years. And they accomplished a lot. It does not feel good to see this constant stream of developers of fantastic apps leaving iOS behind…

1 Like