Roll My Own Streaming Music Service? How To?

I’ve been doing the MP3 thing for 25 years or so, ripping CDs to 128kbps MP3s back in the late 90s! I’ve built up quite the impression collection of legally owned music, if I do say so myself, including many playlists that I adore.

The problem with my music workflow is I can’t “stream” it to different devices easily. I can only get it on one single mac plus iOS devices connected/synced to that one mac. Right now I’m typing on my laptop and I can’t access my music collection unless I pull out my iPod Touch because my main source of music collection truth is my iMac. The second problem is backup. Getting the songs again is less challenging than rebuilding dozens of carefully curated playlists.

I want to avoid paid-streaming services because I don’t want another monthly bill, I don’t care much for new music and add relatively few songs to my ~7,000 track library each year, and if the service shuts down, I don’t want to rebuild my playlists elsewhere.

What I’d love is a way to roll my own streaming solution where I host the music somewhere on a cloud server and can access it from any of my devices, including playlists. As an alternative discussion point, I’d also like to explore backup options if this streaming thing isn’t viable.

Most likely I’ll just stick to always having an iOS device with me nearby and using that to stream music to either my headphones or whatever smart speakers are nearby. That’s okay, I’ll live.

Here’s the backup options I have considered:

Upload everything to Google Music’s free match thing. I haven’t tried it in a while but it used to be all free and work similarly to Apple’s paid match thing.