RSS users: How do you handle high-volume feeds – The New York Times, CNN, Fox News, etc.?

How do you handle feeds that generate dozens of items daily?

I’ve been using RSS for nearly 20 years now, and I still haven’t developed a good strategy. I’m starting to think the best strategy is “don’t.” For high-volume news sites (like the Times, WaPo, CNN, etc.), just subscribe to their newsletters or visit the sites directly.

I’m wondering how other RSS users resolve this problem?

Many feeds I’ve just abandoned and decided if I need to read I will go to the site to find the information. For the ones that are still in my RSS reader, I’m deliberate about clicking only on the feed (or a folder with similar feeds) and then skimming the headlines. If there’s any I want to read, I read them, otherwise I mark the entire feed as read.

I use Reeder 5/Inoreader and do this whenever I’m bored or once a day.

1 Like

Try Fraidycat, very good and open source

2 Likes

This has been a challenge for me too. One of the things I’m experimenting with is using Reeder’s Read Later functionality instead of reading the high-volume feed itself. So I go through the feed, sending stuff that I want to read to my Read Later queue and marking everything else as read. Then I can read stuff out of the Read Later list.

3 Likes

I use Newsblur’s feed trainer to exclude a lot of keywords, categories and authors. I end up with 50-150 exclusions on firehose-type feeds. It’s only worth going through that if you can’t find a more curated source that reports as quickly, of course. And I only do that for specialized news like MacRumors–for a newspaper it’s a lot faster to just scan digital headlines or broadsheet.

1 Like