Scott's New Office Setup

I am a researcher and work full time for a university remotely. I also spend a lot of my leisure and hobby time on my computer or iPad. We’ve been somewhat nomadic for the last few years (something to which I’m sure any of you who are also an early-career academics can also relate) so I’ve never invested in any decent office furnishings. Now that we are somewhere more-or-less permanently, I’ve splurged on the right furniture to ensure I am productive and ergonomically safe. The computing stuff has been with me for the long haul, but the furniture is new.

fullsizeoutput_1aab

1. Fully Jarvis Bamboo Standing Desk (42 inch desk top with grommet) pictured in my seated position
  2. Amazon Basics mesh-back chair
  3. Early 2015 13" MacBook Pro with Retina Display on Griffin Elevator Stand
  4. Magic Keyboard and Trackpad
  5. 9.7" iPad Pro with Smart Keyboard
  6. Seagate Backup Plus 2TB external hard drive (Time Machine, external storage, clone)

I cheaped out on the chair but prior to moving to my current home I had been using the same chair from amazon and it worked just fine. At some future point I may invest in a multi-hundred dollar chair but for now this does the job.

I try to spend about 1/3 to 1/2 of my day standing and the Jarvis makes that super easy.

I still haven’t gotten my cable management quite dialled but I only got my office set up this weekend. I think I’d like to mount a power strip to the bottom of the desk or replace the cable grommet with a power grommet. Not sure where I’m going to take this aspect of my workspace.