Screenflow vs Capto

Hi,

It looks like I will be doing more screen capture based stuff in the immediate future than I have done before. Mostly training and demo videos.

I have a Setapp Subscription, so the little I have done in this realm before I’ve done with Capto. Which seems decent for the use I have had so far. But going forward I’ll need to be doing more cuts, adding some text, maybe some voice etc.

Since there seems to be a lot of Screenflow users here - is Screenflow something that I with a bit of effort can get a more efficient process out of than what I get with Capto?

Is making captures, handling it and creating cuts, merging different captures etc something that is smooth and shortcut based in Screenflow in a way that won’t require a huge investment in learning?

I tried to make Capto work for a while, and it’s ok for small things that won’t have a lot of editing, but that’s about it. The editing tools are very rudimentary compared to Screenflow, and you’ll spend a lot more time making a noticeably inferior video if you try to work with Capto for something bigger. I’ve also had Capto crash on me many times when editing video.

For a while, I was using Capto just to capture the raw video and then editing in Premiere, which I’m more familiar with and does a lot more stuff. However, while Premiere is a much more powerful video editor, the tools are not as focused or optimized for the kinds of actions and effects you will want to use in a screencast.

I know Screenflow is pricey, but it’s worth every penny. It took me a little getting used to coming from a general-purpose NLE like Premiere or Final Cut, but I’m really glad I did. If you’re doing a lot of this stuff, you really ought to give it a shot.

4 Likes