Should I buy the 2018 MacBook Pro?

Hello,

I currently own the late 2013 MacBook Pro 13". I am an undergraduate science student who plans to go to grad school. My computing needs have recently increased because I have learned to code and I now use development software like MATLAB for image analysis and data processing. I’m also an enthusiast photographer who enjoys using Lightroom and Photoshop. I rely on my computer every day as a student.

Therefore, I’ve been feeling the need to upgrade before Grad school. However, I am wary about the negativity surrounding the MacBook keyboards. Even though Apple just reduced the keyboard repair time to 1 day, I do not want to spend $$$ on a new laptop that will have to be repaired every few months. Based on the information above, I have the following questions:

1. Based on my computer usage listed above, would I benefit from the extra cores that the 2018 MacBook Pros provide?
  2. Has the keyboard problem been made bigger than it actually is? It’s been difficult for me to filter the noise online since the most vocal people are going to be the people who have had problems.
  3. Ultimately, would you recommend the 2018 MacBook Pro 13"?

Thank you for your responses!

I got a 2016 MBP with Touch Bar a few weeks after it came out and in 30 months of use, I’ve had keyboard problems for a few weeks - but that was after a toddler dropped a handful of sand on the keyboard. Repeated blasting with a compressed air canister cleared it up. Other than that it’s been fine.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum.