Should I wait for the new Macbook Pro?

I’m a student and graphic designer currently in the market for a new (fairly well specced) 15” Macbook Pro. As October creeps ever closer, my window to buy a Macbook Pro with student discount and free beats closes — I’m in the market for new headsets a well. The discount would be substantial (>€300) and the headphones would be nice too.

It seems, however, that the new Macbook Pro with 16” screen is just around the corner… Should I wait and (most likely) forego my discount, or should I buy one now?

P.S. I don’t have a problem with the current keyboard-feel (which isn’t to say that I think Apple did a good job with this keyboard, especially concerning its reliability)

You say “fairly well specced”, but how well specced a computer are you considering? Rumors are that the 16” model is going to be a very expensive (base model in the neighborhood of $3000).

1 Like

How happy would you be with the 15” if they never released the 16?” How much/how easily do you think you could sell the 15” for if they released the 16” soon after your purchase (whatever that means to you?)

Is there a chance you just really want the headphones and could get by with a $200 purchase and using your old Mac? How many months would you have to delay your Mac purchase to make up for not getting the ~$500 discount plus headphones and could you manage that?

It’s a personal decision but these are the questions I’d be asking myself.

Edit: Chris makes a good point about the price. I paid about $3k for a 2017 15” MBP specced to my needs, so I would expect the 16” to perhaps go to $3500-4000 for the equivalent.

2 Likes

The model I’m currently considering is the 8 core with a 1tb ssd and possibly an upgraded GPU. So it’s in the $3000 range. (Not discounted)