Single monitor recommendations

So, now that I ordered a new MacBook Air M1, I learned that they do not support dual external monitors, After greatly enjoying my 27” iMac for many years, and then my last MacBook Air with dual 24” monitors, I’m not sure what to do. What’s the closet equivalent to two 24” monitors — a 34” monitor? Anything bigger than that seems unwieldy. Or just go back to a 27” monitor?

For background, I’m a lawyer, so all I do is read/draft documents on Word and PDF, sometimes review Excel spreadsheets, and always have e-mail, Todoist, and Fantastical open, along with a Safari window open somewhere. I rarely/never deal with videos or photos.

1 Like

Is “Retina” level resolution on the external monitor a requirement?

I do development for teaching courses. I recently upgraded from a 24in 1080p (AOC) to a 27in 4K (LG) as the second monitor to my MBP (was 15in but now 16in). I find the 27in to be just perfect. Anything larger would overwhelm my physical desk space. I would also be a bit lost in the screen, preferring to focus on a “one location at a time” view when critical. In this regard, I don’t have enough call to have multiple apps opened all at the same time. When I do run two apps in split view, the 27in gives more than sufficient screen real estate.

Did you find that the transition from one 27in to two 24in monitors gave you some extra benefit that you know you would miss if you went back to just one 27in? Can your physical desk space support a monitor that starts at 32in or above in size? Would you find your head spinning (literally more like your head turning from one side to another) when you would have a screen that spans such a large space? How often where you using the two 24in monitors to view documents in side-by-side mode compared to using one for the document and the other for basic Finder-level activities (or for doing other “side-bar” activities)?