Slide presentation/annotate on iPad

I am a professor and am trying to figure out the best implementation for my lecture format. I generally have PowerPoint slides being presented, but I also would like to occasional either annotate the slides, or even sometimes just draw on a blank whiteboard. And, of course, will need all of this projected on a screen. I have an iPad 6th gen and a 2015 MacBook Pro (running Catalina as of last night).

What I’ve been doing recently —— run PowerPoint on iPad, and airplay to Mac (using Reflector App 3). This is fine, except it has dropped out on me a few times, and also when I annotate sometimes there are a few seconds of lag between drawing and the annotations appearing on the projector screen). PowerPoint for iPadOS has drawing tools built in and they work fairly well.

What I’m thinking about trying next semester —- running the slides from Keynote on the Mac, and using Keynote remote on the iPad to both control the presentation and also annotate using the iPad. Keynote’s drawing tools are not as good as PowerPoint, but probably sufficient. If I thought this would run more smoothly, quickly, and seamlessly than the above configuration, I don’t think I would hesitate to go this route (getting Keynote window presentation mode is why I finally upgraded to Catalina last night).

What I was intrigued by - there is an old iPad app called Doceri that controls a slide presentation running on the Mac, and also lets you annotate on top. It hasn’t been updated in over three years, though, and there were some issues with it. I wonder if there is a more modern app that does the same basic thing?

I have seen people talk about using the slides in GoodNote, but when I tried it the slides became static pages (my multi-build annotations within each PowerPoint slide seem to be lost - am I missing something?).

Any other suggestions?

1 Like