Software to tag and organise information from sources - is this Obsidian/Roam?

When I was a student I used NVivo (formerly Nud*st) software, which was for qualitative research data analysis.

It enabled you to highlight text in various sources (documents or web pages) and cmd/right-click to add it to a ‘node’ which is basically a tag/label. All labels could then be arranged into a tree to enable you to retrieve/report on all the text snippets rated to that label.

It was particularly useful for analysing interviews and pulling out themes and the relationship of those themes.

As a bad example, if I was researching countries, and I had a quote about Italy I could tag it ‘Italy’. Likewise ‘France’ Later when I realised that I had a lot of quotes about Europe, I could then create a node ‘Europe’ with Italy and France beneath it. I could also create nodes for ‘travel’, ‘food’ or politics’.

So basically I am tagging quotes to tags, but could create and manage tagging as I went, in response to what I was seeing. It’s quite a dynamic system.

It was license only and very bloated but there’s been various times since that I’ve thought it would be helpful for various tasks. Since I’ve heard about Obsidian and Roam on MPU I’ve been wondering whether these would do a similar thing.

Are they indeed the same thing? What else is there? I’d be particularly interested in something lightweight and fairly simple. It’s really just to store references and organise them. I’d be interested to know what more could be done but its not a requirement.

1 Like

They both have free trials so you should first and foremost download the demos and try them out to see if they fit.

However it looks like you are looking more for a reference manager / clipper which both these apps are not. You can however paste content into them and link that content as you like.