Split scanned PDFs by blank pages...automatically?

Hi guys - new here and first post so Hello :grinning:

After spending an entire day searching for a specific letter from my bank, I’m currently taking early steps into scanning and archiving home documents. Initially, I thought great - dump a sheaf of papers in the feeder and press ‘Go’ and have Hazel sort out I’me rest (Im also new to Hazel, but that’s another post…)

Alas - it seems I can scan each piece of paper as its own PDF (not ideal when a statement is several pages for example) or the whole sheaf as a single PDF.

I thought it may be possible to split by inserting a blank page between different documents to act as a trigger to split them but can’t find any software that might automate this.

Any suggestions/help in this regard would be greatly appreciated.

If it helps I have a brother ADS3600 scanner (Got it new, for a steal and didn’t have the budget for a scan snap) and PDF expert / DTP / Hazel (but happy to get additional software if it fixes things).

This is something I had to deal with too, unfortunately I don’t have any amazing solutions for you.

I split my documents into two stacks, one page documents, and multi page documents. The multi page ones were alternated landscape and portrait (one document portrait, one landscape, to make it easy to grab a document at a time later). Then I put the single page ones through, having it split on each page, got my noise cancelling headphones and a good podcast playlist, and did the rest - document by document. It wasn’t a very efficient workflow, but I got plenty of podcast listening done and didn’t scan many documents I didn’t really need as a result.

1 Like

Not a solution, but fortunately you have PDF Expert, and copying and pasting pages goes quickly.

Why bother separating the files? Just OCR them and search. You can separate individual files if needed later. Most won’t be needed, and you can probably put your time to better use.

1 Like