Stage Manager is Growing on Me

I’m still learning how to use Stage Manager but it is growing on me. I like that the Dock is hidden when I expand the active window to almostfull screen with my open apps showing up on the left panel. I also notice that the desktop fades out. Overall, it is effective and I like the look.

2 Likes

Coming from “I like how I can see all the windows and apps on MacOS9”, the fullscreen, magnet management window doesnt really work for me. I usually manage multiple windows and apps on a single project. I like how in Stage Manager, I have a view of the apps and windows I use while I can just drag and drop it to my current view. If I need a full screen one, its on my external display.

I am also using stage manager on my 14" M1 MBP. I like it but sometimes I feel that it is a bit fiddly. I can see the benefit on laptop but I can’t see myself using it on the large 34" monitor

On a side, I heard (may be wrong) that there is ways to make one app full screen and hide the other screens on the left side, then I hover my cursor to show the hidden screen. However I tried but it did not work. Also there is no much customization available for Stage Manager, pretty much on or off

1 Like

I’ve been using it fulltime for a week+ since I installed iPadOS 16 last Monday. I’ve been making notes and will make a more in-depth post, but I have to say, even with all the strangeness of it, my feeling is that it is a net positive. Right now I have the World Series playing PiP, Safari for browsing this forum, iA Writer for taking notes, Messages to keep an eye on a conversation I’m having and finally Spotify to play during the commercials of the baseball game. This would not have been possible before stage manager.

2 Likes

I just don’t like that tilted window perspective on the side of the screen with Stage Manager.

Katie

You can turn that feature off in the Stage Manager settings by toggling Recent Applications. :grinning: