Standing desk width ? Too narrow and what do you think - $299 at Costco

Noticed that Costco has a nice electric standing desk for $299. I have a regular glass topped desk now that is deeper, 30 inches vs this desk’s 24 inch depth. Wondering if this not wide enough when using my 5K iMac. Also it’s not as wide so I’d not be able to add a second monitor in the future - but I’ve been using it for the past 15 years and not needed one even with my video editing biz. I’ve moved my monitor closer to simulate the dimensions, seems ok. Nice to have less size as my current desk just gets cluttered also standing desk for those marathon 24h video edits! (just watched the video and the chap mentioned one gotcha perhaps, it’s a min of 30 inches tall, I recall hacksawing the legs of my current desk to get it to 29 inches. )

Thoughts?

Here is the desk I am considering purchasing - the video is just one I found on youtube

Just looking at it I would be very leery of the bar across the bottom. I don’t know about you but for me that would be majorly in the way when sitting. The other thing I probably wouldn’t like is the thickness of the top surface. When sitting I have my standing desk as low as possible to get my keyboard down to an ergonomic height. I’d pass.

2 Likes

I have this desk at home. The setup at home is with a 4k 24" LG and my MacBook adorable on a stand next to it. I have the monitor as far back as it will go, and it works ok. I’d be a little concerned about a 5k 27, but if you’ve constrained your setup to test it out and you like it, great! The width works well for me.