Syncing work Mac with home computer

Good morning. Not sure if this is a software or workflow challenge; probably both!

I am struggling trying to use files across two computers for my two different occupations.

I use a MacBook Pro at work with no access to any cloud services due to security restrictions. Outside of my day job, I am a university professor in a domain area similar to my job activities. Files generated in both activities overlap and need to be accessible from my work machine and my separate academic machine. I also use Dropbox outside of work so I can access files from my iPad and iPhone. How do I sync these folders?

The only thing I have thought of is to sync folders
to an external hard drive to manually transfer and sync file folders and changes between the two computers. Am I missing something? What software is good for this type of syncing?

Manually doing this is fraught with potential error. In the past I misread on screen and synced the wrong direction resulting in lost files. Are there any tips or tricks to make this process bullet proof?

Thanks!

Re syncing software, I know SyncMate is/was highly regarded. I dabbled with it for the shortest time, but it was overkill for what I needed, to haven’t used it in years.

If you use something like DevonThink it can sync on a daily basis though given your not allowed cloud services maybe this isn’t possible.

I’ve done exactly this for many years with chronosync.

1 Like

Manually syncing is easy and macOS can do it out of the box (rsync).

But there’s one potential trap (“bullet”):
Work on A->Sync->Work on B->Sync->Work on A: no problem

Work on A->Sync->Work on B->Work on A->Sync: Problem!

A simple synchronization software will overwrite changes. In the example above, you changed the file independently on A and B between syncs. So, a sync software will overwrite changes with the NEWER file. With text files, there are workarounds to merge changes in both files (git), but it may become a hassle…