Task Manager vs Calendar. Which to use when?

Hi MPUers,

I’m new to both these worlds (Task Management and Calendar), but find it difficult to decide which to use when. I use them randomly. In most cases, I use Task Manager (TickTick) for things that I need to do in the next 7-10 days (can include appointments), and Calendar to remind myself of things far out in the future, like a few months out (appointment/birthday). Not sure this is the best system but this is where I am. I also find myself not clearing out all the tasks in my task manager though and they just remain in the archive.

Can you share how do you use them or what is the best way to split these things. Should I just be using one instead of both task manager and calendar?

PS: Although all of you are very nice and helpful people :slight_smile: and I learn a lot from y’all, but I still want to request everyone to please be mindful of other people’s workflow/app choices and have a healthy/collaborative conversation around it. :heart:

I just use the calendar for appointments, birthdays and things I cannot miss. If I put reminders in the calendar, I wouldn’t be able to read it (way too crowded). So the reminders I put in Reminders or in Things or even both.

3 Likes

I use my task manager for… tasks. And just for that. I don’t like apps that combine both. Tasks are to-dos. Things you have to work out, things that need an action.

The calendar is used for appointments, birthdays… stuff that will happen without me doing anything. Washing the car? Task. Meeting with boss? appointment. Preparing for the meeting? Task. :slight_smile:

4 Likes