Tech and Higher Ed

I have been a public school teacher and principal for nearly 40 years and since retiring from the principalship a year ago (and loving the consulting life), I will now be a full-time member of the education faculty at Keene State College in Keene, NH. I have many years of experience as an adjunct professor, but this is my first foray into full-time higher ed.

It’s a broad question, but I’d love some banter on the forum about higher ed and tech in the Apple/Mac world. I’ve been an Apple user since my Apple IIe in 1984. You higher ed types out there – what tech is working for you?

Thanks!

Bill

5 Likes

There are several academics and researchers out here on MPU who will no doubt wish to chime in. There are many engaged conversations on the forum on file storage (Finder, DevonTHINK, Eaglefiler); note-taking (Apple Notes, Obsidian, Roam, Bear, etc); long form writing apps (Scrivener, Ulysses, Word, etc); and reference managers (Zotero, Mendeley, etc); and the comms, planning, and scheduling apps for emailing, calendaring, and tasks. Depending on your teaching and public speaking needs, there’s presentation software (PP, Keynote). As a social scientist you might have some need for databases or other bespoke apps? I can’t think of much more than the above that keeps HE going – do you have more particular apps or tech needs?

I am a keen Keynote user. But I rarely get the chance to run presentations off my own MBP, and as with a big keynote talk I delivered last week, I bring all my slides as a PDF (ran on the inevitable Windows machine installed in every lecture theatre in the world). I couldn’t do without my Kensington remote to move slides along so I can be on my feet and not stuck behind a lectern.