TechTool Pro upgrade to version 10; are there alternatives?

I’ve been using TechTool Pro for several years now. I upgraded to version 9.5 about a year ago, then to 9.6 in December. Now they want me to upgrade to Version 10. Every time they charge $19.95.

My understanding now is that the upgrade will apply only to a single machine. You must pay $19.95 for each machine onto which you wish to install TechTool Pro.

This is beginning to seem more like a subscription service.

I’d be interested in hearing the thoughts of others on this. Is their upgrade/pricing model reasonable? Should they just call it what it seems to be becoming: a subscription-based application?

What alternatives to TechTool Pro do you use? Is it worth flipping?

As I have never used TechTool Pro, I cannot say whether it would be worth flipping but I can vouch for Disk Drill, which I have used for at least a few years. It is also the highest recommended alternative to TechTool Pro, among a bunch of others.

1 Like

A random thought or two, and a question. First, I don’t have a problem with a $19.95 upgrade to a new version (whole number, not “.8”). We all love free stuff, but it’s only fair we pay for something we use. Twenty bucks a year would be a very fair subscription price.

Can’t think of the other random thought now.

But, here’s my question: are the utilities like TechTool or Disk Doctor wise to use for “regular maintenance”? It seems to me in the past when I’ve used a utility to do regular maintenance on my hard drives, it’s not too long before I’m getting significant errors that utilities (including Apple’s Disk Utility) cannot seem to fix. A reformat and reinstall is the only solution. In contrast, on my current 13" MBP with solid state drive, I haven’t run any maintenance apps on it, and I’ve not had any problems at all.