The incredible shrinking podcast industry

I thought this might be of interest.

1 Like

Well, Apple News crashed when I clicked the link, so that’s not ideal. :slightly_frowning_face:

But when I clicked again and read the story - this may explain some of why I have been hearing about the declining ad market for the last several months, and why many podcasts have fewer sponsor reads.

I’m unable right now to make the link work, but as an avid podcast listener for many years, I can see how this shake-out is inevitable. More podcasters chasing too few advertisers (or other types of funders), and people having only so much bandwidth to actually carve out time to listen which forces people to be much more selective with a smaller list of “used” subscriptions. Same economic forces which drive consolidation in radio, then TV, now ongoing with podcasts, streaming TV services, social media services, etc. Economics 101 that used to be taught at most universities…perhaps no longer?

4 Likes

The Apple News link works for me, but I would not have been surprised if it hadn’t.

People, please bear in mind that Apple News is a very limited release product. Most countries of the world do not have it. No, I don’t mean Apple News+, I mean plain old Apple News. Why that is still the case so many years after launch is beyond me.

The links never work for me in Slack for iOS/iPadOS.

Part of the problem appears to be that advertisers want listener info, age, income, region, etc. Data that Spotify and other services can provide but RSS podcasters cannot.

I had no problem opening the link. But I do not have Apple News installed on my iPad and iPhone so the link opened in Safari.

1 Like