The Lose It diet and exercise app now lets you scan nutritional information directly from a food label

The Lose It diet and exercise app now lets you scan nutritional information directly from a food label. This should be a big convenience for me. I’ve been using Lose It to keep a daily food diary for nearly 10 years, and I often have to enter nutritional information manually, which can be a pain.

A couple of years ago Lose It added the ability to scan nutritional information from a bar code, which was very helpful, but still, a lot of food wasn’t in their database. So scanning in labels will be a big time-saver.

4 Likes

Hey, now this is pretty cool! Adding that info in the past has always been a bit of chore, but this makes it MUCH better.

I just signed up for premium today. I didn’t like what I was seeing in the mirror or the scale.

The first thing to do is get informed.

Congratulations! That’s how it starts.

10 years ago I was 100 pounds overweight, and taking five pills a day for Type II diabetes, cholesterol, etc. Doctor at my checkup said, “You’re a nerd. There’s got to be an app for that!” I went home and searched the app store for … well, I forget the keyword but it was “diet” or something like that. Lose It came up as top-rated.

I hit my goal weight in Jan. 2011, lost ten more pounds three years later and have been within about 8 pounds of that weight since. I don’t take any meds. And I log with Lose It nearly every meal and snack, every day during all that time.

I don’t want to say “if I can do it anyone can,” because I don’t think science really understands the psychology and metabolism of obesity. If I look at a fat person who is otherwise responsible in his or her life, I reject the interpretation that they’re just weak or lack will power. Still, I really thought I was going to be fat my whole life, and now I’m not.

5 Likes