Thunderbolt Hubs and the M1 Macs

Hi everyone!

I am looking to compare some notes regarding Thunderbolt hub behavior and M1 macs. For reference a Thunderbolt hub is a class of new Thunderbolt devices that give you three thunderbolt ports from a single connection back to the computer. These include the OWC Thunderbolt Hub, a similar one from Plugable and the Kensington SD5700T. Because I review this stuff for a living I have all three !

So here’s what’s happening on both my M1 MacBook Air from last year and my M1 Max Macbook Pro that I bought a few weeks ago:

When the system goes to sleep the hub disconnects. Sometimes it crashes the Macbook, other times it just disconnects the connected devices (not good if you have hard drives connected), and occasionally the hub itself will lock up requiring a complete reboot of it and the computer.

Initially I thought it was maybe something physically wrong with my M1 Macbook Air or the OWC Dock but my Pro is exhibiting the same behavior regardless of which dock I connect.

I’ve filed a radar with Apple but it hasn’t been looked at. I do think this is a big issue with how Apple is implementing Thunderbolt on the M1’s.

I have had a similar issue with my M1 Mini and decided to switch off sleep and keep it always on (just let the screens sleep)

Before I did that I would sometimes find my Mini rebooted because of an issue in the mornings.

Re MacBook Pro, I do the same. When I use it, it is always on and when I stop using it I always take all peripherals off and force it to sleep. I had too many kernel panicks, likely because I connected too many different periperhals (Mouse, Keyboard, TrackPad, YubiKey, Speakers, 3 screens, 2 raid arrays, Time Machine, PodCaster Pro, cameras, Streamdeck and counting…)

I haven’t noticed this with my CalDigit Element hub.