Totally Off Topic - Comma 3 Open Source Driving System Superior to Tesla

I understand this is totally off topic. But I have a feeling a good number of those interested in Mac hardware may be interested.

This is my new car I bought this month.

At first glance it is a boring vanilla Ford Explorer - a classic utilitarian family car. But then look at the “Comma 3” installed below the rear review mirror which runs OpenPilot software.

I was a bit skeptical when I read about a tiny company writing open source software for driver assist that runs on the equivalent of a $1250 Android phone. Not only are reviews stellar, but also Consumer Reports rated them as superior to every manufacturer’s driver assist system, including Tesla.

I am just getting started but initially I am impressed and agree with the reviews. My basic thoughts are:

(1) Anyone can probably install the hardware, but there is a risk of damaging the clips holding the trim to parts of your interior. A local custom auto electronics shop installed it for me for $150; I think that’s wise.

(2) While you do not need to be a Python developer to set up the software, it helps if you are comfortable with Github and getting technical advice from a Wiki or Discourse. In my case the public release of the software did not have the “fingerprint” for my car’s particular trim level so I had to create a custom fork for myself and then submit a pull request for OpenPilot to add my car model to the main branch. [If you are not into stuff like that - finding a local high school or college student familiar with open source software who can help you should not be too hard.]

(3) OpenPilot’s general approach is pretty conservative and safety-minded. The stock software is more conservative than Ford’s own lane-keeping system in most respects; you can tweak it to more capability step by step as you are comfortable.