Turn-off 2 factor authentication

Hi. I’m really stuck. And I’m hoping someone can help me.

It’s my Mum. She’s 77. She has an iPad and it’s her only device. She doesn’t have an iPhone. She has a landline. She doesn’t have a laptop.

She has a password but I’ve turned off 2-factor authentication because (as far as I know) can’t use it properly if the iPad is her only device.

The problem: ever since she upgraded to iPadOS 14 apple has been tricking her into turning on 2-factor authentication. Not by asking her to turn it in, but telling her to upgrade her security.

It also, since the iPadOS 14 upgrade, keeps logging her out of her appleid.

I’m flummoxed. It’s actually rather stressful be is she keeps having to type in her password. (Which is hard enough). And then it turns on 2-factor auth and then I turns it off and then it forces her to sign in.

I’m a computer scientist, by training, and I don’t know what to do.

The iPad is currently chasing more pain than pleasure for her, and me, and it’s the way we mostly communicate (through messages).

Help?

There’s information at the linked article about turning 2FA off. Note that you only have two weeks after turning it on to turn it off.

As a workaround, could she use one of your devices to receive any authorization codes (you could call her with the code)? A code should only be needed if she signs out of her Apple ID.

I did not know this. It seems rather draconian, does it not?

1 Like

Yeah, I was thinking about this today. I wonder if erasing the device clears it?

Thanks @JohnAtl and @jec0047.

It looks like Apple is going to enforce 2FA for all users going forward. From what I’ve read, it looks like they’re forcing (and tricking) existing users to switch, and they’re forcing new users to use it without choice.

I guess it’s okay if you have more than one apple device on hand.

It’s awful if you don’t.