Ulysses and Devonthink

I am a professor who also does research heavily weighted to documents. I have come to love Ulysses but also have a huge database of PDFs I manage with Bookends – which also does my referencing. I also have ebooks on Kindle and Logos Bible Software. I work mainly on MacOS but sometimes use iPadOS.

I am considering adding Devonthink because of its ability to index and make connections.

Question: Does DT play well with Ulysses and Bookends?

1 Like

This thread has me interested! I use Ulysses, Logos, Kindle and DEVONthink a lot. But, I use Endnote rather than Bookends (mainly to avoid a subscription). May I ask how you want DT to play well with Ulysses and Bookends? You can copy links to a DT article and paste into Ulysses and I assume also into Bookends. You can copy a Ulysses link to paste to an DT article and I assume to Bookends as well. The Beta version of Ulysses now has internal linking.

2 Likes

Right now I have about 7,500 references in Bookends including 4,000 PDFs. Of these perhaps 1,000 have highting or annotations on the PDF – but most of that was done before Bookends. I have about 800 note-taking files. Most of these have been imported into Ulysses, which is also where I do my planning (using the Project category in Ulysses) and writing. Keywords are all over the place. I have on several occasions tried to implement a keyword or tagging system in both Ulysses and Bookends, but there is no consistency. Some references are tagged. Most are not. Some PDFs are tagged. Most are not. Some note-taking files are tagged. Most are not. Add to that the highlighting and annotations in Kindle and Logos, and another 500 or so PDFs I’m currently scanning as I’m clearing out old files.

You get the idea.

The dream is to have One Manager To Manage Them All.

1 Like

One more thing: all this started 30 years ago while doing my PhD with Notabene and Ibidem for DOS (yes, DOS).

3 Likes