Upgrading SSD - mid 2015 MacBook Pro

I currently have a mid-2015 Macbook Pro with 251 flash storage. I would like to upgrade to 1 TB SSD to buy some time until the next generation of Apple Silicon is available. I contacted Apple Support by phone and was told that it is not upgradable, my only option would be to buy additional iCloud storage. I checked the OWC website and found an upgrade kit for only $267 that looks like it would work. I have never done this before but am willing to give it a shot. Any thoughts, helpful suggestions, or shouldn’t I attempt this? Your input would be most appreciated.

First resolve the discrepancy in what is reported. Either the internal HD can be swapped out or it cannot be swapped out. Until you have a definitive answer on this, you should not proceed. Perhaps Apple really means, it cannot be upgraded without voiding the warranty (whatever is left) or because we no longer provide that service (but it may be possible to do through a third party such as OWC).

I’ve had no major problems to swap out internal hard drives (and RAM) on my MBPs over two different vintages. The OWC site has DIY videos that explain nicely exactly what to do. Use the right tools and take your time, especially to remove the screws on the back plate of your MBP (you do not want to strip these screws). While you are inside, you can clean out the dust and dirt that has likely accumulated on the vents. Some folks also take the time to re-do the heat sink paste (if you are so inclined).

–
JJW

1 Like

I replaced the storage on a couple of, I think 2013, MacBook Pros. Read the How To a few times, then take your time, have the right tools and keep up with your screws, and you should be OK.

@DrJJWMac brings up an important point. Make sure your MBP and the new storage is compatible. The actual work requires care but doesn’t require much disassembly.

1 Like