Using a backlit keyboard with the iPad Smart Keyboard Folio and other unintended configurations

This is an embarrassingly obvious thing to do and I can’t believe I’ve not tried it till now. Nor have I ever seen anyone else mention it. I’m generally very happy with the Smart Keyboard Folio. But at night I’d like to have a backlit keyboard. Also, the media keys are very nice to have. In recent weeks I’ve been somewhat tempted by the Logitech Keyboard and today saw the Zagg pop-up. Both would have benefits and drawbacks. As I pondered them my wee little pea of a brain lit up.

As it happens I’ve been using the Logitech K811 for about 5 years and it’s one of my favorite keyboards and it can be paired for quick switching with 3 devices. I have it paired with my iPad but rarely use it. This evening a lightbulb went off and I set it on top of the keyboard of the Smart Keyboard Folio and started using it instead. I think I’d assumed that there would be issues with the keys of the folio keyboard registering taps but they don’t. Not at all. Because the K811 has a hard plastic bottom I can make it slide around a little if I try but that’s the only hint that it’s not attached. I could probably add a thin bit of rubber on it’s underside so that it would be a bit grippy and stay put.

It’s just a little thing but sometimes its nice to be able to solve a problem just by the simple placement of one thing in relation to another.

4 Likes

K811 is my favorite keyboard . I also paired my iPhone for a occasional long text even an Ulysses session. Not ideal but it works.

My 811 has four tiny rubber feet… mine is a few years old. A Hermit Shell case protects it in my messenger bag.