Using iPad Pro as main system with external monitor

Morning All,

I have been using a 2018 Mac mini as main machine for a couple of years and quite happy with it. I also had a MBA which I would use occasionally when not in my office, but not for anything I couldn’t do on iPad.

I recently sold the MBA as got a good offer for it and after a long convoluted story with a MBP also which I thought I would replace everything with… I am now back to the Mac Mini as the main machine and no laptop anymore at all.

So, boring back story out of the way…

I now have my Mac mini set up and my iPad Pro (2018) sitting on the desk beside it. I have started to use a keyboard and mouse with it just for convenience and this morning decided to watch a video of someone using it through their external display.

I have now tried it and I can’t deny, its actually really nice to use on the big screen. My only frustration point with it so far is the 4:3 rather than 16:9 on most apps.

I was looking for thoughts of others who have done this or considered it. What was your experience or what stopped you doing it?
What apps are just not practical through iPad rather than Mac? I understand for programmers there are limitations, but whilst I am trying to learn python, I am far from a programmer.
I still have the Mac mini there and my thought is that I can remote into it when there is something I really need to run.

Hopefully there are further improvements announced later today and it makes it even more feasible to do but certainly my immediate impression is that it is quite nice to use now there is keyboard and mouse support.

2 Likes

I’m really hoping that WWDC announces further improvements for iPadOS to make it closer to a laptop capability, including an external monitor which can be used as a second screen rather than a presentation layer