Visual Tools for Thought (Curio, Milanote, Muse)

Hi I am new to Mac and trying to find an effective workflow. I plan to use Roam/Obsidian for knowledge management, but I’d like to lay out all the pieces to analyze before commuting the knowledge. I have looked into a few visual note taking softwares like Milanote, Muse, and Curio. Does anyone here have any suggestions or experience with these or other more visual apps?

The only one I have any experience from is iThoughts, I find using mind maps useful.

3 Likes

First, there is pen and paper, or a white board. These are underrated in my opinion.

One you didn’t mention is Literature and Latte’s Scapple. It’s simple and it doesn’t give you a lot of opportunity to be distracted by “fiddling” with it. It is fairly inexpensive.
Scapple

Another is Cmap. It is free, and again, doesn’t have so many things to distract you.
Cmap

Also, and you may already know, there is a difference between concept mapping and mind mapping. Concept mapping is more free form (this is my preference, and both the tools I mentioned above do this), while mind mapping is more hierarchical and has a very outline-like feel.

Edit: lots of good documentation on the Cmap site.

theory of concept maps

4 Likes

There’s another concept mapping app that I really enjoy – but it is clearly abandonware. Even so, it still works perfectly well on Catalina: Delineato Pro

Delineato is also available on iPad – one of the few cross-platform concept mapping apps I am aware of that doesn’t depend on storing your data on someone’s website.

1 Like

I did not know the difference! Thanks for informing me. I’ll definitely look into it more. I was debating the Scrienver and Scrapple combo since it seems so highly rated. But I was worried it might be too “writing based” which is what I planned to use obsidian for.