Wanting to copy stuff into a template in Microsoft Word, help?

I’m a teacher. I have a few times a year a need to copy a students goals as determined by a meeting and make a goal sheet to track data. Any way to help automate this would be appreciated, thoughts?

Making an assumption – do you want each student’s goals to be tracked on a goals sheet specifically for that student? (Twelve students would result in twelve tracker sheets.)

If that’s the case, then it might sound strange but a good way to set up forms like this is to use Microsoft Word’s “mail merge” feature. I won’t go into all the details here, but what you do is put the unique data for form you want to create into a table in Excel. You create the “tracking form” in Word. Then you use “mail merge” to grab the data for each student’s from from Excel and insert it into the form for that student. You can print the forms, of course, or print to PDF for electronic tracking.

Katie V.

1 Like

Textexpander for the form data with fill in fields for the student name etc. may be a good option? Also makes it useable on iOS

@KVZ Love it! Do you have a good link all about mail merge and what you discuss?

Here’s some info – looks like a long recipe, but I think once you get the hang of it you’ll figure it out quickly.

Interesting, I’ll play with it more this weekend. There has to be some forums or something of people really into Excel and Microsoft Office I can post to for further help.

I frequently have to make contracts that are based off a template. I actually created the template in Google docs and have Zapier fill in the information for me. I used to send it all the information needed through web hooks/Siri Shortcuts, but now I have it pulling information from a combination of Shortcuts and an Airtable record. Since I ultimately want all the information to be a PDF, I have Zapier upload it to my Dropbox. Hazel then turns it into a PDF, OCRs it, and organizes it for me.