Webcam Recommendations

I give trainings for a living. These have now gone online via Zoom. What recommendations do you have for a webcam the isn’t too expensive, but will still look professional.

Thanks!

PS. My machine is a 13” MacBook Pro. Brand new 2020. I’m posting this while waiting on the Migration Assistant!

I don’t know what ‘too expensive’ means but I’d carve out some of my time and budget for a clean background and good lighting too.

The Logitech C920 is a pretty nice camera, if you can find it in stock somewhere. Typically in the $70-ish range. This is the sort of purchase you probably won’t have to re-make for a rather long time.

If you don’t have cash to drop on that, and you have an iPhone / iPad, the built-in cameras on those are pretty decent - just find a way to anchor the device in place.

1 Like

I’ve done all I can with lighting and my background is good. It’s not about lighting, it’s about the quality of the camera. I’d also like the camera to be mounted higher than I want my laptop to be, so I can type comfortably in the middle of meetings. (I don’t want to deal with a Bluetooth keyboard). I think we’re going to be Zooming for a while and I’m looking to make an investment.

A quick Amazon search brought a few other options, but not the C920. One question… I have a rural WiFi connection that is at best 5MB/second. I’ve been able to do fine with Zoom meetings, but these cameras with the better picture, do they require more from my network?

The Logitech C920/C930 include a threaded camera mount. You can then attach it to some critter like:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07BLQF41P

and you’ll be able to articulate / adjust it. That’s the exact model I have, and it works well. :slight_smile:

The C920 is what I have, and I’ve seen it for sale some places yet. The C930 is the newer (and slightly more expensive) camera.

Zoom has a page about bandwidth requirements here: