What are “notes,” anyway?

I have been a journalist of one kind or another more than 35 years, and have done note-taking all of that time. Note-taking is the foundation of my work. It’s how I pay the mortgage on the house, how I put food on the table, and keep the car going.

I started out using this kind of notebook:

More recently, I’ve moved to 100% typed notes, because as a tech journalist I do my research sitting down.

I do interviews, or I listen to or watch presentations, often recorded. Often nowadays, other people are doing the interviews, and I’m taking notes on that, often from recordings. I read a lot of PDFs and Office documents, and web pages, and highlight the relevant bits.

I write down most of what people say, combine the best parts of that with the highlighted bits of those documents, mix it all up together, and an article comes out the other end.

That, to me, is note-taking.

But it seems that other people talking about note-taking are talking about a different thing entirely.

What the heck is “note-taking,” nowadays, anyway?

5 Likes

If I were to try to summarize the modern position, it would probably be something like “any text generated as a result of a thought, written so one can remember.”

It’s very, very broad.

Your definition seems to be much more conventional - things written down for the purpose of summarizing an interaction, lecture, etc.

1 Like

I suppose the Potter Stewart answer is the best: “I know it when I see it”.

It would be impossible to define a “note”. @MitchWagner’s defintiion depends on their situation. I don’t think there is a “modern position” vs. maybe an “old-school” position. It’s all purely situational and personal.

8 Likes

For my purposes, I’ve concluded that the kind of notes you take @MitchWagner are more like original sources than notes. You’re actually memorializing a conversation.