What makes Raycast special?

I’ve been using Raycast religiously for several months now and love it! Hearing the latest MPU got me thinking again about what makes it different for me. IMO, it stands out from the other launchers for three basic reasons:

• cmd k: having multiple actions available to you under this little keyboard shortcut provides a lot of power in a progressively revealed set of options if you need them.
  • Text-based custom scripting: You can write any custom scripts using common scripting languages or programming languages. If you do any light development with node.js, for instance, you can write a script for Raycast for your personal use without having to learn anything about Raycast. Use all your normal npm libraries, etc, and that’s it! Yes, you can hook scripts up to Alfred, but for whatever reason the GUI editor has always been off-putting for me. As a part-time dev, writing everything in a normal text editor is much more comfortable. (I may be misremembering how Alfred works here; let me know if I am!)
  • Tech stack of store extensions: Official store extensions are built on one of the most popular web dev stacks: React and Typescript. There’s a fully-developed Raycast API for creating extensions using this stack and it makes all official extensions work and look very similarly. While devs will need to understand the Raycast UI library, etc., there are thousands of thousands of developers who write in React and Typescript every day and writing up a quick integration with a popular web service is not difficult to do. This encourages integrations with web platforms and massively extends Raycast without requiring much from either Raycast or the extension creators. That’s not to say Raycast is only web-focused, but it begs to be connected to nearly any service with a web API because of its stack.

What else would you add to this list?

4 Likes

I was wondering this as well, but from the opposite angle.