What other Internet communities are you active in?

Where else do you like to hang out? What are your favorite subreddits, discord servers, discourse boards, etc.? I’m looking to branch out.

Apple communities preferred, obviously, because I am posting here, but any topical community will do.

None, except this one. I will periodically (approximately two or three times a month) check my LinkedIn page, but other than that, this is the only online community I frequent with regularity.

3 Likes

Except for this one, mine are pretty tool-specific, so they won’t help unless you use one of the tools. For example, the other forum I visit as much as this one is the forum for Channels DVR (a network TV DVR, which, over the last year has turned into very fun, full-blown hobby). I also visit the DEVONthink forums. Beyond that, I frequent some skiing groups on Facebook, which is pretty much all I use Facebook for these days.

1 Like

This is it for me. I was a self taught I.T. manager for many years and still haven’t kicked the habit of keeping up with technology. So I still read research articles and watch keynotes, training videos, etc.

1 Like

Mostly just here. I do drop in on Facebook primarily to follow family members (my aunt just had her 100th birthday!) but also a Scrivener group. LinkedIn to see what former coworkers and students are doing. I also keep my bio fresh there because I know people look me up. I used to be active on MacRumors. Occasionally on Quora (only to answer technical questions).

2 Likes

Find the communities that fit with your existing interests. I actually continue to hang out here because it’s populated with great people with a wealth of knowledge, and I often get to contribute. Sometimes even usefully. But… I haven’t listened to more than a few MPUs in the last 5 years or more.

Other communities are based around other podcasts, or around my hobbies. Each one has made itself known to me in some way or other.

5 Likes