Which VPN do you use?

I’ve been using Tunnelbear for several years. It used to be a good option for watching UK TV from Australia, but sadly this no longer works. I suspect this applies to many of the popular VPNs, not just Tunnelbear.

My annual subscription is due in a few weeks, so thought it would be good to cast about for opinions on other services.

So what do you use, and why?

I use encrypt.me (formerly Cloak). That said, I’ve never really used it to get around geo-blocking, so I don’t know how well it does on that score.

2 Likes

It depends what you want to use it for. One use is what you’ve outlined, to watch content that you are normally blocked from viewing due to your geolocation. Another use of a VPN to improve your privacy. With the latter you want to pay more attention to the company you are doing business with as you are relying on them to protect your privacy.

I think this website is a great resource for learning more about VPN’s in general and it rates dozens of options: VPN rating site.

Hope that helps.

2 Likes

ExpressVPN has been incredible for me so far, but I wish it had smart VPN for the iOS format. That’s one of the things that I miss about the old Cloak software.

3 Likes

Private Internet Access. I’ve been on it for 18 months, and after the first year I jumped on a Stacksocial deal for 3 years for $90. That deal is gone but a similar 2-years-for-$60 offer is ongoing.

I get the occasional hiccup, like a while back not being able to access treelinebackpacker.com from the NYC node because it was temporarily on a blacklist (that got lifted). Speeds seem fine, no problems.

It was one of the finalists for me based on various privacy, stability and speed considerations, reviews, and user reviews on Reddit. (There is also an active user community for PIA on Reddit.)

I can choose between turning on the VPN for my computer as a whole, or just use a Chrome/Safari browser plugin to use while websurfing.