Why does printing result in this dialog box....?

Presently on Ventura 13.2.1.

When I print, I often get this dialog box:
CleanShot 2023-06-25 at 14.51.48@2x

This can occur with either of the two printers that I have. Both are connected via my WiFi network, not directly connected to my Mac.

This dialog box does not actually come up with window focus; it is generally hidden behind whatever other windows I have open, so I have to use Mission Control to find it and then allow access to the Desktop Folder for the printing to proceed.

It often happens even when I am printing something that is not actually located on the Desktop.

Help/suggestions? Is there a way to give the various printer apps ongoing access to my Desktop folder so I won’t have to do this every time?

Thanks!

Perhaps give them full disk access?

What driver are you using, the printer manufactory’s driver, or Apple’s AirPrint driver? I ask because I use Apple’s AirPrint driver and I have never seen this pop up. I’m wondering if the issue is related to Apple’s increased security restrictions not full trusting a third party driver. If so, you may need to give the driver more access. Or, if your printer supports AirPrint, use that from your Mac instead. However, if you are already using the AirPrint driver, then I have no idea what’s going on.

Thanks. It appears I am using the manufacturer’s drivers. I will check on my other Mac when I get home to see if this is the case on both.

I’ve got that exact printer. I’m using Apple‘s AirPrint and I’ve never had any troubles with it. You shouldn’t need the manufacturers drivers if you network attach the printer.