Why don't you run a Pi-hole?

This might be a silly question, but why don’t you run a Pi-hole for ad blocking? When I search for info on it, people who use it swear by it, but at a site like this, where people seem to be more tech savvy, there is almost no mention of it.

Are there drawbacks that make it not worth the effort? Is it more difficult to set up than the 100 tutorials make it out to be?

And if you do run one, is it worth the effort?

(There are references here, but nothing recent.)

1 Like

I’ve been running pi-hole for several years and it needs very little maintenance. The hardest part is the initial setup but the documentation on pi-hole.net is good and the maintainers are very responsive. It doesn’t block all ads but it gets the vast majority.

I imagine some people feel they don’t have enough command line expertise to do what’s necessary.

1 Like

For me, it’s just that public DNS fits our family better right now and I don’t want to reverse proxy a Pi.

2 Likes

I consider running a pi-hole from time to time, but in the meantime I’m content with using mullvlad’s public DNS with Adguard’s public DNS as a fallback. Both services have great blocking and are free to use.

2 Likes

I don’t run Pi-hole because NextDNS works great for me and my family, also outside of our WiFi network(s).

(I’m using their Pro plan, so yes, a subscription, while Pi-hole is free)

1 Like

Not everyone wants to put a DIY server as a critical element between themselves and the Internet.

It has to sit between your router and everything else on your network.

Yes, these types of geek server/utils are well supported and run, but tell that to your family when it fails for the first time when you are away on a business trip and your entire home is without Internet until you return :wink:

What happens when Pi-hole fails? : r/pihole (reddit.com)

5 Likes

I think that’s a misconception.

2 Likes