Why the dislike of Electron apps?

I really don’t get the whole dissatisfaction with electron thing. As a programmer myself it’s appealing because of the cross platform ability and the apps are not too different from standard apps to use. Or at least I don’t find the differences upsetting.

Sure it’s not the same experience but , at least for me, it’s not a bad experience.

So why do so many people dislike them?

Is it because of a lack of keyboard shortcuts? Something else?

2 Likes

I know an entire group of developers that absolutely despise electron (mostly due to high RAM usage, causing poor performance).

3 Likes

For me, it’s how long it takes to load. Most electron apps take several seconds for even an empty window to appear. That provides a mental ‘weight’ to using the app that I dislike.

That being said, I believe most people who dislike Electron apps is due to placement of menu bar items, keyboard shortcuts, and general app organization being inconsistent with native apps. If there are actions that are the same that you have to do in apps but they all do it differently, the overhead for doing the action goes up.

@anon54919170’s comment too is relevant. Not really when you have one or two apps running on Electron, but if every app did? I imagine it would slow down your computer a lot. (I’m projecting here), developers who dislike electron probably don’t dislike electron itself, but the implications of every app being made with electron.

I think the outcome like any software depends on the skill of the developer. Obsidian is the electron app I use continuously, and it barely registers on CPU and RAM usage. Registers well below many native apps. OTOH, DEVONthink is a resource pig.

Examples?

1 Like

Personally I prefer native apps over cross-platform apps (like Electron apps) since the latter:

• often don’t support the standard menu structure, menu commands & keyboard shortcuts