Why this Icon Design? Inconsequential Question: Inquiring Minds Want to Know

I find it odd that a pen is used in the icon for a digital word processor. Design experts and developers; why do you think Apple uses the pen icon for a product that isn’t designed for the pen (yes I know that one can use the Apple Pencil to annotate/draw in Pages but that is a tertiary use).

Thoughts?

Screen Shot 2022-03-05 at 3.57.08 PM

1 Like

I am not a design expert, but my personal thoughts.

I believe because they market it as writing and word processor software than typing software. It is meant to replace writing on paper. This is not the only place where writing is represented by pen. Type the word writing, and iOS will suggest this emoji :writing_hand:.

I also believe our minds will connect a pen icon to writing more than any other design.

That is my assumption as well but its interesting that another digital writing app, iA Writer, uses an icon that clearly communicate writing but in digital form.

Screen Shot 2022-03-05 at 4.16.08 PM

Obviously, there is no right or wrong answer; I just find it an interesting choice–probably because I’ve been paperless for at least 10 years. The only time I use a pen is to sign documents and I try to do that digitally whenever possible and permitted. :grinning:

Hmmm … the icon for Pages clearly indicates writing to me.

iA Writer looks like the ‘A’ ran into a wall. It does not communicate writing to me at all. :man_shrugging:

3 Likes

Nostalgia? It’s probably a leftover from Apple’s skeuomorphic days. And it will probably disappear in a few more years, just like this:

Unknown

3 Likes

That made me laugh. :laughing: I see letters typed next to a cursor. A bit like an Ink Blot test. :grinning:

iu

1 Like