Work is buying me a new iMac....what specs do I ask for? (graphic designer using Adobe CC)

Hi all Mac people smarter than me!
PLEASE HELP! My work is getting me a new computer (current 2015 iMac going to new intern) and I don’t know what specifications to request. I checked Adobe’s website for their specs recommendations, but they only list each app separately and I’d be running multiple apps at once, ideally.

[ About me: ]

• I am a Graphic Designer
  • I work remote and use VPN to connect to the office (high security financial business)
  • I’m the only Mac user in the company (currently)

[ What I need from my computer: ]

• I run multiple Adobe CC apps at once (InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, Dreamweaver)
  • I want to get into video editing and creation, animation, etc.
  • I do a lot of large-file photo editing

Any help, guidance, or direction for answers would be beyond appreciated. :slight_smile:

Sounds to me like you’ve got a pretty good case for an iMac Pro.

1 Like

I’d have to make a really good case for it, and this is where I’m at a loss for what to ask for specifically. I just don’t understand hardware specs. Any advice?

Do what I do… request all the upgrades and let them come back and say no. You can pare it back from there… :sunglasses:

Seriously, you should upgrade the GPU and CPU if you are going to do photo or video editing along with the Adobe stuff. I have an up-speced 2017 iMac and it’s great on that stuff. Of course, the iMac Pro would be better, and even the base configuration should be outstanding for your needs.

1 Like

I might read your report this way.

• I am the only Mac user in the company
    –> The computer must also run Windows in addition to macOS. This translates generally to more cores + more RAM + larger hard drive.

• I run multiple copies of …
    –> The computer must be able to run full bore on all possible cores with all possible threads.

• I want to get into video …