Yes, I bought an iPhone 8+ and here's my homescreen

iPhone8plusHomescreen

What is going on here?

I set this up according to several principles. The most important 2 are

1. Minimize distraction. The only thing that shows me a badge on this screen is Photos, when someone (family) reacts to a photo I’ve shared. Very low frequency.
  2. Nothing social or email on the homescreen… they both are on the second page, in a folder, to add friction to checking. But when I need to pass time, the Twitters and Reddits of the world are their waiting for me.

Everything else on the phone is on page two, sorted into topical folders. I access those items 90% through search (I’m a LaunchBar user on my Mac, so this is 2nd nature to me).

Top row: things I touch the least, since it’s farthest from my thumbs (can you tell I’m a UX designer?) Though, I’m surprised how frequently I find myself in Settings—I wish Control Center would allow you to toggle Bluetooth devices on and off individually.

2nd row: Map-related things. Yes, I use Apple Maps 99% of the time because it doesn’t steer me wrong, and I strongly prefer its UI to all other map apps. I also have Google Maps, Navigon (100% on-board maps, can be used without cell service — also RIP) and Maps.me (OpenStreetMap powered, has trails in addition to roads) tucked into the 2nd page.

The next 3 apps are weather, and I am tempted to start a blog dedicated to weather app reviews as its entire focus. There are a lot of bad wx apps, and there are nicely designed apps with poor data. I find myself in between. I an an NWS Skywarn spotter, and have a semi-serious weather station in my backyard, so I’m in these frequently on stormy days.

3rd row is somewhat random: I don’t use Apple Notes and Reminders a lot but they are my notes and reminders shared between my and my wife. Photos is here… but the camera is not, although I use that frequently. I pull that up from the lock screen or control center.