Yet another DevonThink topic

I’m becoming convinced, for the 3d or 4th time in as many years, that the hassles of DevonThink are not worth the benefits. At least for me.

Your mileage, as they used to say in car commercials, may vary.

But this seems to be an app I need to try for about a month every year and a half or so.

5 Likes

I’d love to help but I’ve got to finish moving into Things 3 so I can move back into Omnifocus before bed.

23 Likes

Remind me what you want to be doing with it. Using DT is attractive to me, but for what I do, google searches are a good enough alternative. And as someone once put it, DevonThink also has to compete with saying, “I don’t know.” :wink:

3 Likes

2 Likes

I find DEVONthink the most valuable tool in my Mac arsenal.

9 Likes

I’m a tech journalist. And as you say it seems like whenever I run a search in DT, Google is pretty much just as good.

A main reason I use it is to sync with iPhone and iPad. Didn’t need that for the month I’ve been using it this time around. Until Friday — and then when I tried to use it, it wasn’t working.

@ismh what are you using for note taking nowadays? Still on Bear?

I scorned DT2 for its ugliness and redundancy with Finder functionality for a long time, but ended up trying and liking DT3. For very specific scenarios.