27-inch 5k or 32-inch 4K

I’m looking for an external monitor for a MacBook Pro 16-inch (2021) arriving later this month. I currently use a 27-inch retina (5k) iMac and really appreciate the sharpness of the text. As an attorney, I spend a lot of time screen reading, and far less time editing/annotating images. I’m not a gamer and don’t intend to use the monitor regularly for video watching.

I’m torn between purchasing a higher res 27-inch monitor (probably the LG sold by Apple) or a 32-inch 4k monitor, as I’d appreciate having the extra screen real estate. (I’m not interested in dual monitor set up though).

Given my needs, I’d appreciate any advice based on others’ experience. Specifically, for my intended uses am I likely to be disappointed with the larger, but lower res, display? Thanks!

I think it’s a straight tradeoff between workable space and text sharpness.

The 5k monitor will maximise text sharpness - assuming you’ll be running it at an effective resolution of 2560x1440.

The 4k monitor will give you more space, but the text won’t be as sharp.

Fwiw, most of my work involves writing notes and client documents, and I’ve been v happy with an LG 5k Ultrafine for several years. There’s not a day when I don’t appreciate the sharpness of the text (the novelty doesn’t seem to wear off!)

I often run Nisus Writer Pro (for a client-facing deliverable document) and Craft (for notes) side-by-side on the LG - without a problem.

4 Likes

Obviously the real answer here is the 6k Pro Display XDR. C’mon. You get the larger screen and keep the text quality.

Agree that you’ll miss the 5k sharpness. Can you just move the 27" closer to you?

3 Likes