551: Writing Music for the Picture Business, with David Metzger

1 Like

Metagrid seems rather expensive to me. I’d appreciate it, @MacSparky, if you give us a longer take on it some time. (As you probably know) I’m a big Streamdeck user - but could use more buttons and I have an original 12.9” iPad Pro sat next to my Mac. This might be ideal but it is quite a lot of money.

One of my favorite episodes so far. It probably helps I’m a music teacher.

It seems a rare occurance where a guest gets @MacSparky to spend money, especially in real time!

3 Likes

This was a really interesting episode and I really enjoyed his personality.

3 Likes

Just want to say how happy I was to get this episode in my feed (as a composer-musician myself). Top notch guest MPU! Great episode. Also glad I fall in the middle of the same Venn diagram as @MacSparky – people who love Macs : people who love jazz

3 Likes

Really good episode. Thank you.

This was one of my favorite episodes I love hearing from guests who work in fields that are not obviously related to computers, but really benefit from them.

4 Likes

Wonderful episode! Wow!

(Tried Metagrid, works great on iPadOS 13, crashes on 14.)

3 Likes

But did you get $21 of value with it?

absolutely, I put this against buying a streamdeck.
To play with, and decide if I want to add a streamdeck later on I think the price is fine.

With KM native integration it’s absolutely perfect to automate your workflow.

1 Like

Thank you very much for one of the best MPU ever. I especially love the passion and kindness of David Metzger!

So it was ÂŁ29 but can see this could be good value.

I set up a button for PowerPoint and one for BBEdit. Three-finger swiping left and right between the apps brought up the respective pages.

On WiFi it was slow but I plugged in via USB and that was much faster. I’d probably recommend USB for another two reasons:

• I can charge my iPad reliably.
  • I won’t be messing with networking.