621: Sparky Freedom

21 Likes

THIS IS A BIG ONE, FOLKS! Super excited for David and his new chapter:

20 Likes

Let me just say I’m excited for you. I can distinctly relate as I am an attorney also. An attorney who shuttered the doors after 30 yrs of practice to become involved in charitable work. The nerve damage all occurred in making the decision, not the aftermath. What would my clients, friends and family think? My identity had always been wrapped up in being a legal professional. In other words, David, I went through the same process you’ve just completed.
Let me tell you the freedom is well worth it. No more waking up in the middle of the night wondering if you’ve made a mistake. No more frustrating clients. No more CLE. No more…well, lawyering. At one point, I’d worked 11 years without 5 days off in a row. Just crazy really. But the exit wasn’t like I was fleeing from a burning building. I remain thankful for a job that provided for my family, allowed me to put my daughter through college and save a nice sum along the way. I’ve been fortunate, really.
But somewhere along the way, like you, I knew my life as a lawyer was coming to an end. And as you know, closing a practice doesn’t happen overnight. The NC Bar has guidelines for closing a practice. Winding down took time. But in the end, it was the right decision. I want to assure you that what’s in front of you will be fun, rewarding, much more relaxing. As the weight of the practice slides off your shoulders you’ll have a new sense of excitement. I’m sure you’re feeling this now! I hope you don’t feel like you “closed” the practice as much as you finished the race. It’s time for something new. Good luck, friend.

19 Likes

Wow. That is a big move for David. Best of luck for him!

1 Like

Congrats to @MacSparky. A big step but no doubt a rewarding one. Life’s too short not doing what you love most! #addingmoneytomyfieldguidesavingspot

2 Likes

Congratulations @MacSparky !