Am I wrong to consider a Mac Studio instead of a laptop?

When I first started using Macs (for graphic design work at the time) the laptops were nowhere near as powerful as the desktops so I always had a desktop and a laptop. This lasted until the launch of the trashcan Mac Pro which prompted me to switch to only using a 15" Macbook Pro from then on. That has been the case up to my now current 2019 MBP 16" – fully optioned out at the time but showing its age.

I am now a self employed web developer and mostly work from my home office. With that in mind I am considering a Mac Studio (Max, 64GB, 1TB) when the M3 version finally arrives.

My reasoning is that I’ll get more performance value for money (vs an equally specced Macbook) and a much cleaner desk setup. I have a 5K 27" monitor already.

The Intel MBP can then do light laptop duty for a few more years. This mostly involves client visits (demos and note taking) and holiday/weekend travel (in case I need to fix a bug or kick-start a server, which happens rarely). When it is time it can be replaced by a Macbook Air perhaps.

Despite my long-ago history of primarily using desktop Macs, I’m still a little hesitant to go against the current norm of having a laptop as my primary computer, but rationally there seems to be very little downside.

What do you all think?