An article critical of Safari

I’m interested in what people think of this. I’m a dev but don’t do a lot of deep web work so I can’t comment too intelligently on a fair bit of this. But it was written well enough that I thought others here might be interested.

FWIW, I use Safari full-time on my Macs, iPad, and iPhone and love it.

This article gets written almost exactly the same way every few years, and has no effect except making people argue on the Internet.

5 Likes

Interesting web geeky article. Though I haven’t standardized on one browswer in years. I routinely fire up Brave, Vivaldi and sometimes Opera.

They are correct thought Safari’s slow release cycle means truckload updates versus the constant interation of other Browers.

1 Like

Safari is definitely the most annoying modern browser to support. And it’s not only hostile to developers, it’s hostile to users also, when it robs them of things like 50% lighter WebP images for a decade. To say nothing of its crap UI and plugin support. But it’s nowhere near as difficult to develop for as IE.

For one thing, IE constantly introduced proprietary features or its own implementation of standardized features. In early versions of IE, that was a genuine benefit as Microsoft was trailblazing the web and IE could do things other browsers couldn’t. But when it became Microsoft’s language vs standard language, it was an incredible PITA. Much more difficult than Safari being slow to understand the latest language.

For another thing, IE pretty much was the web at one point. So you had no choice but to code in two languages because of it. Safari doesn’t have that market share. It’s big on mobile, but you probably need to make adaptations to your website for mobile anyway, which cuts down on the “if not for Safari I’d be lazing on the sand right now” factor.