Apple Vision Pro: Are you getting it? (I'm debating)

I am a huge apple fan and am lucky enough to have the means to afford this. However, I am more afraid of the potential for addiction. I am already very addicted to the iPhone and I can imagine this device could be like an iPhone on crack. I am trying to find a way to keep the device away from the infinity pools of doomscrolling… Any thoughts?

Time-locked container with a charge cable snaked through ventilation gaps? Only half-joking.

4 Likes

I can’t imagine it’ll be usable for significant periods of time between the weight of the headset, the potential comfort factor and the strain on eyes (this second could change with practice)

I have absolutely no interest at all in it, especially at that price. I’m working to use screens less in my life, not more.

10 Likes

100%.

I’m no tech prognosticator, but I can’t shake the feeling this thing will fizzle out before too long. They’ve invented something before the “real use” has been discovered. Either I’m right, and it’ll fizzle out, or we’ll all be wearing them in 5 years. I hope I’m right.

3 Likes

I’m definitely getting one. I’ve already set an alarm for pre-order day. I’m hoping that Vision Pro will give me something much more akin to my multi-display setup when I’m on the road with just a laptop.

5 Likes

I’m pretty sure I’ll be getting one, but I’ll be on a trip on launch day, so I’m going to wait until I get back to order one.

Not a chance. But I might consider a Power Mac G4 Cube. They were always pretty neat!

1 Like

Hmmm … I wonder what a person’s face and hair might look like afters hours of wearing this thing? Perhaps a concern for one’s appearance will limit its use? :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Nope, I won’t be getting it.

If this class of devices succeed technologically and in the market, they’re going to be lighter, cheaper, more comfortable, and have better battery life in a few years.